First Batch at Palayam in 1961

Milestones : 1960-1964

1960: Establishment of the Kerala Jesuit Province on 27 September, with Rev. Fr. Joseph Edamaram S.J. as the first Provincial who shortly afterwards founded Loyola School and a college in Trivandrum, the latter of which got bifurcated into Loyola College of Social Sciences at Sreekaryam and St Xavier’s College at Thumba.

The Founder
Fr. Joseph Edamaram S.J.

1961 June: Birth of Loyola School at a borrowed abode at Palayam with Fr. K.V. John S.J. as the first Principal and 36 students on the rolls.

1962: Temporary transplantation to the Monvila campus and the starting of a Boarding House there, with Fr. K.V. John S.J. followed by Fr. P.C. Antony S.J. at the helm as Principals.

Fr. K V John S.J.

Fr. P.C. Antony S.J.

Fr. John Kunjaparambil S.J

1963: Permanent transplantation to the present campus, farewell to the Kerala syllabus, and the introduction of the ISC course with its Board in Delhi and affiliation to Cambridge University—all thanks to the dynamism of the third Principal, Fr Antony Vachaparambil S.J. who handed over the charge to Fr. Thomas Anthraper S.J. in June 1963.

1964 May: Fr John Kunjaparambil S.J. assumed office as the fifth Principal, introduced weekly assemblies and the offices of the School Captain and the General Secretary, divided the students into four Houses (Panthers, Leopards, Lions & Tigers), and provided for more regular practice for the promotion of sports and games as well as leadership qualities.

1965-70 >>>

Fr. Antony Vachaparambil S.J.

Fr. Thomas Anthraper S.J.